Each year, Taylor Seminary presents a number of scholarships and awards.  These awards are given to recognize achievement in ministry, academics and leadership. Our sincere thanks to the many individuals, churches and organizations who have faithfully and generously invested in the lives of our students in their educational journey.  The following are the award recipients for 2019-2020:


Ministry Awards

Dan Leverette Memorial Scholarship

  • Awarded to: Victor Symons
    This scholarship is given to a Master of Divinity student who demonstrates ability in and commitment to the practice of youth ministry and is preparing for full-time vocational ministry with youth.

Dewey Intercultural Studies Award

  • Awarded to: Sophia Burton
    Established by former President Dr. Marvin Dewey and his late wife, Becky, this award is given annually to a second-year student who demonstrates competence in and concern for intercultural ministry.

William Sturhahn Preaching Award

  • Awarded to: Jennifer VanSteenbergen
    Made possible by the family of Dr. William Sturhahn, this preaching award is given to a graduating student who demonstrates the greatest proficiency in preaching and is seeking placement as a pastor in Canada.

Academic Awards

Alumni Association Scholarship

  • Awarded to: Jamie Boyce
    The Alumni Association Scholarship is awarded to a student distinguished in academics and Christian behaviour and seeking placement in full-time vocational ministry.

Doris and Gerald Borchert Scholarship in New Testament Studies

  • Awarded to: Rodney Hennessey
    The Doris and Gerald Borchert Scholarship in New Testament Studies is awarded to the full-time, second-year student who demonstrates the highest proficiency in New Testament studies.

Faculty Scholarship

  • Awarded to: Stephen Lieberman
    The Faculty Scholarship is awarded to the degree student who earned the highest grade point average during the present academic year while completing a minimum of 9 credits in each semester.

Goltz Family Scholarship

  • Awarded to: Sarah Cameron, Rodney Hennessey, Stephen Lieberman, Kayla Muth
    Established by the family of former President, Dr. Walter Goltz, this award is given to full-time program students who are preparing for Christian ministry and based on academic performance.


Leadership Award 

Sonnenberg Leadership Scholarship

  • Awarded to: Melissa Chaffee, Nathan Gullion, Georgia Haffenden, Jennifer Vansteenbergen, Mary Whiteman
    Established by former President Dr. Joseph Sonnenberg, this award is given to students who demonstrate giftedness in the area of leadership.