Honour and Celebrate Dr. Jerry Shepherd

NEW INFORMATION: The recently announced provincial Covid restrictions which are now in place have caused us to reconsider hosting this event which was originally scheduled for September 17 from 7-9 pm. We had planned to gather to honour Dr. Jerry Shepherd and celebrate his 28 years of teaching and transition to Emeritus Professor of Old Testament at Taylor Seminary. After some conversation with Dr. Shepherd and others, we have decided it is best to postpone this event until a later date when restrictions are lifted. No future date has been set at this time.

In the meantime, if you would like to write a note of appreciation to Dr. Shepherd, please email your greeting to: ralph.korner@taylor-edu.ca. Be sure to list your full name, where you are presently residing (city, country), and any professional title with which you wish to be associated (e.g. pastor). These greetings will be collected and presented to Dr. Shepherd on that evening.

Taylor End of Year Awards 2021

Each year, Taylor Seminary presents a number of scholarships and awards.  These awards are given to recognize achievement in ministry, academics and leadership. Our sincere thanks to the many individuals, churches and organizations who have faithfully and generously invested in the lives of our students in their educational journey.  The following are the award recipients for 2020-2021:



Dan Leverette Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is given to a Master of Divinity student who demonstrates ability in and commitment to the practice of youth ministry and is preparing for full-time vocational ministry with youth.

Awarded to: Melissa Chaffee

Dewey Intercultural Studies Award

Established by former President Dr. Marvin Dewey and his late wife, Becky, this award is given annually to a second-year student who demonstrates competence in and concern for intercultural ministry.

Awarded to: Agnes Mastin

William Sturhahn Preaching Award

Made possible by the family of Dr. William Sturhahn, this award is given to a graduating student who demonstrates the greatest proficiency in preaching and is seeking placement as a pastor in Canada.

Awarded to: Kent Blanton


Alumni Association Scholarship
The Alumni Association Scholarship is awarded to a student distinguished in academics and Christian behaviour and seeking placement in full-time vocational ministry.

Awarded to: Carol Henders

Doris and Gerald Borchert Scholarship in New Testament Studies

The Doris and Gerald Borchert Scholarship in New Testament Studies is awarded to the full-time, second-year student who demonstrates the highest proficiency in New Testament studies.

Awarded to: Caley Tse

Faculty Scholarship

The Faculty Scholarship is awarded to the degree student who earned the highest grade point average during the present academic year while completing a minimum of 9 credits in each semester.

Awarded to: Caley Tse

Goltz Family Scholarship

Established by the family of former President, Dr. Walter Goltz, this award is given to full-time program students who are preparing for Christian ministry and based on academic performance.

Awarded to: 

Bonnie Coram
Georgia Haffenden
Amy Kowal
Lalo Ramkissoon
Wendy Werkman



Sonnenberg Leadership Scholarship
Established by former President Dr. Joseph Sonnenberg, this award is given to students who demonstrate giftedness in the area of leadership.

Awarded to:  

Kent Blanton
Scott B.
Adam Buyer
Joshua Green
Lisa Wojna


White Cross Partnership Announcement


tayloredulogoWhite Cross Canada is close to the heart of many churches and individuals in the Alberta Baptist Association.  A history of committed involvement, financially as well as through volunteers, means that the ABA shoulders much of the weight in supporting this important work.  In light of this long tradition and deep passion for this work, we are pleased to announce that a new partnership has been signed between the Alberta Baptist Association and Taylor/EP Wahl Centre to partner together to support the ministry of White Cross Canada in the future.  Together Taylor and the ABA will provide the necessary supports to maintain the important work of White Cross Canada.

We should make it clear that this partnership will not impact the operations or funding of White Cross Canada. White Cross will continue to function as it has in years past. Taylor will continue to host the operations of White Cross on the Taylor campus as we have done in the past, and will make sure that material donations in support of the work of White Cross are directed there. 

One administrative change that will happen is that beginning January 1, 2021 receipts for financial donations to White Cross Canada will be issued by the ABA rather than by Taylor. A letter will go out shortly to White Cross donors/supporters with more information about this partnership. This letter will include instructions to help make sure donations get to the ABA in a timely manner.  We should also make it clear that any monies sent to Taylor to support the work of White Cross after January 1st will be passed on to the ABA so that monies are used as they are intended.

We are excited about this new partnership.  We believe it will be good for the ABA, for White Cross Canada, and for Taylor.  If you have any questions or concerns please don’t hesitate to contact either David Williams (phone: (780) 431-5207; email: david.williams@taylor-edu.ca) or Terry Fossen (phone: (780) 438-8852; email: tfossen@nab.ca).

Kairos Joins the Digital Theological Library

As the Kairos Project continues to expand around the world, we are always looking for ways to continue making the journey of discipleship affordable, accessible, relevant, and faithful.  Today, we are thrilled to announce a new partnership that will greatly enhance the quality and accessibility of theological resources for those engaged in Kairos.

The Kairos Project is now a co-owner of the Digital Theological Library (DTL), “a co-owned, born-digital library of religious and theological studies.”  Launched by the Claremont School of Theology, the DTL now counts among its co-owners Gordon Conwell, Missio Seminary, Denver Seminary, and Arab Baptist Theological Seminary (and several others).  The mission of the DTL is to provide its co-owning institutions with the highest quality digital resources in religious and theological studies at the lowest possible costs.”
Read more about it on our partner's website, here!